Counting Sheep

I decided that today, January 2nd, 2013 I’d start counting sheep, sheep ornaments that is! (I am putting away my Christmas stuff.)  I have collected ornaments for over forty years and in the 1980’s, I became a bona fide sheepaholic as far as those little critters go.  A friend taught a Bible Study on the Twenty-Third Psalm and it was then that I was forever hooked on sheep.  Why?  I finally understood why God calls us the sheep of His pasture and Himself our Shepherd.

(These facts I copied from a book by Mary Glynn Peeples  “All we like sheep.”)

Sheep need the full time supervision of a Shepherd because:

  • They are not teachable
  • They are not trainable (you’ll never see them in a circus doing tricks)
  • They are afraid to drink from running water
  • They are led, not driven – try to drive them and they scatter
  • When they get on their back, they can’t right themselves
  • They aren’t (meant to be) burden carrying animals
  • They must be sheared at the right time in the right season
  • Their vision is impaired when they aren’t sheared
  • They are defenseless
  • They need His daily touch.

I’m not done counting my sheep yet but so far I have about fifty.  They’re all shapes and sizes. One is made of bread dough and a few are made of wood. Some are made of resin, and others of real wool.  Some were gifts and other’s I bought but all are a treasure to me. They remind me how much I need my Shepherd and how like a sheep I am.  Surely am glad I’m His!

photoAll we like sheep have gone astray: we have turned everyone to his own way: and the Lord hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all.

ImageImage

5 thoughts on “Counting Sheep

  1. I always think of you when I see sheep. Then I immediately think of how wonderful it is to be a sheep in my Savior’s fold. Thank you for always pointing people to Christ.

    Like

    • I counted 69 & that didn’t include ornaments that were mangers surrounded by sheep. : ) My first sheep one was a wooden sheep that was in a set of wooden ornaments that Mike & I painted in 1972. Thank you, Sue.

      Like

Feel free to leave a comment.

