Happy Anniversary, Tendermercies

20120905-135839.jpgI just received a “happy anniversary” note from Word Press.  I didn’t realize that I’d been writing Tendermercies for a year.  It’s been fun—writing about our adventures.  I started blogging in 2005 after I’d attended a writer’s conference. They encouraged us wanna-be-writers to consistently log our thoughts on Word Press or Blogger.com.  I’d never heard of a blog until then.  I came home, googled blogs, and taught myself the How-tos of doing it. I spent all day July 4, 2005 learning how to upload one picture to my  http://www.singlewivesclub.blogspot.com  and I do mean all day for one pic.  I was so excited when I finally got that profile picture up.  I’d been determined to do it but blogs were not as user-friendly then as they are today and I was an old dog to pick up blogging.  At that time, my writing was primarily about grief and the hardness and barrenness of it so learning to blog was probably harder because of my state of mind. But it was therapeutic to share my heart and I’m glad I logged all those pages of hurt.   My first entry was “The Diagnosis that Changed Our Lives,” the second one was “In Pieces,” and the third one was “Another Sunday Alone.”  They’re sad yet they journal the pain of the grief I was facing then, making the days of adventure that I share with John all the more precious. I know well that everything is for a season. Today is the time to embrace the joy that surrounds us.  Today is the time to give thanks and praise.  Today is the day to say “I love you.” Today is the day (as the saying goes) to take time to smell the roses,” enjoy sunsets, and celebrate all that God has blessed us with.

I thank Him for His abundance of Tendermercies and for a year of allowing us to share our adventures. May you have wonderful adventures of your own as you walk this path.

Lamentations 3:22-23

The faithful love of the Lord never ends![a]
His mercies never cease.
23 Great is his faithfulness;
his mercies begin afresh each morning.

Luke 1:78 Because of the tender mercy of our God, his light from on high has visited us,

8 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary, Tendermercies

  1. Thanks so much for sharing these thoughts. I’m thankful for the opportunity to watch God work mightily in your life. What a delight to read, on this blog, about your love and adventures. Happy Anniversary! 🙂

    Like

  2. I feel truly blessed to apart of this chapter in your life. You’re such a beautiful person & writer! God’s light shines through you ❤

    wonderful post – xo

    Like

    • Thank you, Ang-la. I’m glad you’re a part of my new chapter too. : ) Each chapter is full of unexpected blessings in this “under construction” life. God added quite a few room in this season.

      Like

Feel free to leave a comment.

