A Phoenix Visit

I lived near my four grandsons for the first nine years of being their grandma and still don’t like the 1100 miles that now separates us. When I make the trek to their home in Phoenix, I don’t usually lug my camera but I use my trusty IPHONE to capture as many sweet memories as I can. I love to look back on those photos and remember the time spent with them…..my Lego designing, music making, gymnast tumbling, homework doing, game playing, bike riding, Bible reading, trampoline jumping, sports playing, park going boys. What a delight and blessing to my heart they are. Please walk with me through my visit via my IPHONE pics.

I always love looking out the window on the plane. It's a two-hour and fifteen minute flight if I am fortunate to book a non-stop flight.

I always love looking out the window on the plane. It’s a two-hour and fifteen minute flight if I am fortunate to book a non-stop flight.

It's monsoon season and the skies tell it.
It’s monsoon season in Phoenix and the skies declared it almost everyday of my visit.

On my first morning there, my first grader climbed in bed with me and played a game on my IPAD.  Love this pic.

On my first morning there, my first grader climbed in bed with me and played a game on my IPAD. Love this pic.

With the two hour-behind-Oklahoma-time difference, I woke up early.  Loved seeing

With the two hour-behind-Oklahoma-time difference, I woke up early. Loved seeing the morning clouds.

One of the cooler evenings,  Steph and I sat aside and watched the boys play.  As the sun went down, the clouds were beautiful.

One of the cooler evenings, Steph and I sat outside and watched the boys play. As the sun went down, the clouds were beautiful.

I love this flowering bush in Ben and Steph's back yard.

I love this flowering bush in Ben and Steph’s back yard.  This looks like a bouquet but it how the flowers cluster on the bush.

A view outside my car window as we headed to church on Sunday Morning.

A view outside our car window as we headed to church on Sunday morning. With four boys, their homework is varied.  I loved that the two younger read to me as part of their homework. My ten year old was learning  the names of many of the muscles so we found this diagram to help.  I think the thirteen year old has surpassed me so not much I can help him with! : )Home work help above!  With four boys, their homework varies. I loved that the two younger read to me as part of their after school work. My ten-year old was learning the names of many of the muscles so we found this diagram to help. The thirteen year old has surpassed me so not much I can help him with! : )My thirteen year old loves to play football video games.  So do a couple of his brothers. My thirteen year old loves to play football video games. So do a couple of his brothers.Lego time....My eight year old does great with new design from old lego stashes.  Lego time….My eight year old does great  designing new things from old Lego stashes.  He created some cool cars and some small robots.  My pics didn’t turn out great on those.

Steph and I in some serious rain one morning as we drove into Scottsdale.  it was one of the few times Steph's driven in rain in Phoenix.  As you can see, visibility was low.

Steph and I dealt with heavy rain one morning as we drove into Scottsdale. Steph said it was one of the few times she’s ever driven in AZ rain since it seldom rains there. That means Phoenix floods easily. YIKES! We saw some of that as we were on our way back from a great consignment store….love the “My Sister’s Closet” stores. In fact, I bought a piece of luggage at Goodwill so I could bring my great clothing finds home. : )Steph and I didn’t know how to act because in thirteen years, this was the first time all four boys were in school.  We missed them but we had fun.

Park time, riding scooters.

Park time–riding scooters, passing the football. FUN!

At the park after school...a cooler day with a monsoon season sky.

At the park after school…a cooler day with a monsoon season sky.

One of my favorite places to eat while visiting the kids.

One of my favorite places to eat while visiting the kids.

The ten-year old was helping a friend run a lemonade stand.

The ten-year old (in the striped shirt) helping a friend run a lemonade stand.

My first grader practicing for his Saturday gymnastics class.

My first grader practicing for his Saturday gymnastics class.

The morning I left as the boys prepared to leave for school, Steph grabbed a quick pic for me.

The morning I left, as the boys prepared to leave for school, Steph grabbed a quick pic of us.  Notice my swollen left eye….I had a not-to-fun infection around a crown the dentist had recently worked on.

Watching my first grader dart around on a computer game.

Watching my first grader dart around on a computer game.

Park time on one of the cooler days.

Park time on one of the cooler after school days.

Another of my favorite treats was my ten year old playing the guitar for me.  He's getting good...following in his Dad's footsteps.

Another of my favorite treats was my ten-year old playing the guitar for me. He’s getting good…following in his Dad’s footsteps.

My eight year old was having fun riding his small bike.

My eight-year old having fun riding his small bike.

2 thoughts on “A Phoenix Visit

  1. It’s so refreshing to see such awesome, Christian kids! I’m so happy you had an great trip! Those 4 boys are getting more & more handsome! It’s crazy though Max doesn’t look like a little boy anymore, he is officially a big kid (:

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment.

